Segregation: If done right, could it work?

ImageSegregation…it is a word that conjures up horrible images of how our country was and has been since Christopher Columbus took a wrong turn and ended up here…Jim Crow laws and Rosa Parks…Sadly, there are a whole generation of kids and adults who know nothing about the history of the civil rights movement or how there were ..separate laws for people depending on the color of their skin. I have actually discussed this with some people in their teens and twenties, and they think I am making this stuff up!fountain..I am not going to get into the long and horrible history of segregation in this blog. I am going to pose a “What if” scenario, and would like to hear your thoughts about this proposal. I believe in equal rights for every human being on earth, without exception….just wondering how this would play out.

whitesonly

The country becomes geographically divided…you put the white people in the North and Northeast..every state East of North Dakota and North of Virginia. The black people have all the states east of Kansas and South of Maryland. The Hispanics live in all the states West of Missouri and South of Wyoming. The Asians and “others” all live in the pacific Northwest…

states_imgmapWe try this for a year and see what happens. People that refuse to be “with their own”  can either go to jail or to Alaska. Mixed race families would have to choose where they want to go and live with their decision for a year. (Please remember people, this is just a hypothetical question I am throwing out there…I do not want this, I am just wondering what different people would think about this.)

What would happen at the end of the one year trial period… Would crime go down or up? Would people be happier? Would schools become more productive and safer? Would our prisons still be just as full? Would people want to stay in a “segregated country” or go back to like it is today? What would happen to people if they “stepped outside their boundaries”?  How would the rest of the world view us? (that is a whole other topic, regarding immigration and allowing people to just live in any country that want. Not sure if I wanted to move to North Korea they would welcome me with open arms and “Come on in!”…unless my name was Dennis Rodman).

dennis

When I am fighting with my girlfriend, I have often wondered what it would be like to have men live on one island, and woman on another. We could all do our own thing Mon-Fri and then on the weekends if we wanted to, we take a boat over to the other island and get crazy!cartoon What I am asking I guess is do people feel the need to be around people who are just like them to be happy, or is better to have a whole “melting pot”and just deal with different races and cultures the best that we can…what do you think?

As always, thanks for taking the time to read my nonsense. Please also take a minute to answer the poll question so I can get a grasp on how people really feel…and like Aunt Bea used to say… “ya’ll come back now, ya hear!”

About shawnpmcclellan

Fun loving guy who is here to inform, entertain, and force feed my opinion down your throat!. We will be talking about a myriad of topics, including, but not limited to: the hot issues of the day, sports, movies, TV, books, food,sex, religion....I have lived all over this great country, and I love to share my opinion on almost everything. I am a trivia master, so trivia will be sprinkled throughout my blogs...feel free to make comments or suggestions, and if i don't agree with them I will just ignore them!
This entry was posted in african americans, racism, segregation, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Segregation: If done right, could it work?

  1. BroadBlogs says:

    My belief – personal philosophy — is that life gives us challenges to help us grow. I think we learn and grow a lot more when we deal with people who are different from us — different cultural background, economic class, whatever – and when we deal head-on with issues like discrimination. A person can develop much more empathy and compassion for people when they live with them than when they segregate themselves from everyone who is different. You can see – and really experience – the humanity of everyone when you work with them and interact with them. That may be harder to do when everyone is segregated.

  2. You’ve made some really good points there. I checked on the net to learn more about the issue and found most individuals will go along with your views on this web site.|

Leave a comment